4 Aussies in Action on Day 2 bwin Darts World Series

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Simon Whitlock Images courtesy Kelly Deckers/PDC


4 Aussies were playing on in the second round of the bwin World Series Darts Final. Kyle Anderson, Raymond Smith, Simon Whitlock and Damon Heta where flying the green and gold flag.

Kyle Anderson v Michael Smith

In the first match of the night, Kyle Anderson played Michael Smith with Smith prevailing 6-3 over Anderson. Smith averaged 103 for the match had 4 180’s and 35% check out success, which was too strong for Anderson on the night.


Kyle Anderson image by PDC/Michael Braunschadel


Raymond Smith v Raymond van Barneveld

The second match of the night saw another Aussie in action, Raymond Smith, early in the match Smith was down 3 nil to 5 time world champion Raymond van Barneveld, however Smith had a fight back to get the match to 5 all and a decider where RVB hit a 180 at the right time to leave him a check out of 10.  Raymond Smith hung in there with a low avg in the 80’s but the experience of RVB came through.




Simon Whitlock v Daryl Gurney

Simon Whitlock is the third Aussie up playing the SuperChin Daryl Gurney.  The Wizard has just won a close encounter with Gurney taking out the match 6-5. At no time did the number 8 seed look like a winning chance until the final game when Gurney missed an opportunity on D3 to win the match but missed the chance giving Whitlock a shot a 25 D20 and he took it. It wasn’t pretty from Whitlock but it is still a win he will next play – Gerwyn Price who beat the number one seed, Peter Wright.


Simon Whitlock


Damon Heta v Michael Van Gerwen

Damon Heta found out today why Michael Van Gerwen is the world number 1 today. Even though he had a good average and getting back to back 180’s he was never in the match with Gerwwen in red-hot form.


Damon Heta



All Results Day Two


Michael Smith  6-3  Kyle Anderson

Raymond van Barneveld   6-5  Raymond Smith

Gary Anderson 5-6  Dave Chisnall

Peter Wright  1-6  Gerwyn Price

Simon Whitlock  6-5  Daryl Gurney

Rob Cross  5-6  Jamie Lewis

Mensur Suljovic  3-6  James Wade

Michael van Gerwen  6-0  Damon Heta


Sunday, November 4
Afternoon Session (1345 Local Time 1245 UK Time 2200 AEST )

(Order of Play TBC)

G Price v Whitlock
M Smith v D Chisnall
Lewis v Wade
Van Barneveld v Van Gerwen


Full match reports following.

Close Menu