Corey Cadby withdraws from the 2018 Grand Slam of Darts!

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin




COREY CADBY has withdrawn from the 2018 bwin Grand Slam of Darts, opening up a potential qualification for Polish star Krzysztof Ratajski.

The former World Youth Champion had qualified for the Grand Slam of Darts after reaching the UK Open final earlier this year, where he lost to Gary Anderson.

Cadby had made his Grand Slam of Darts debut in 2017, where he went out in the Group Stage in Wolverhampton.

The Australian’s withdrawal means Ratajski now moves into a provisional qualification place for this year’s event, after winning back-to-back Players Championship events earlier in October.

Players have a final chance to secure automatic qualification in this weekend’s bwin World Series of Darts Finals in Vienna.

However, if the two finalists from that event are already qualified for the Grand Slam, then Poland’s Ratajski would be in line to make his Grand Slam debut.

Eight players will also come through the last-chance qualifier for PDC Tour Card Holders on November 5.

The bwin Grand Slam of Darts will be held from November 10-18 at the Aldersley Leisure Village.


2018 bwin Grand Slam of Darts
PDC Representatives – Current Provisional Qualifiers: (invited in the following order up to a maximum of 16 players) 
2017/18 PDC World Champion; ROB CROSS – 1
2017 Grand Slam Champion; MICHAEL VAN GERWEN – 2 
2018 Premier League Champion; (Michael van Gerwen)
2018 World Matchplay Champion; GARY ANDERSON – 3
2018 World Grand Prix Champion; (Michael van Gerwen)
2017 World Youth Champion; DIMITRI VAN DEN BERGH – 4
2018 Masters Champion; (Michael van Gerwen)
2018 UK Open Champion; (Gary Anderson)
2018 European Champion; JAMES WADE – 5
2017 Players Champion; (Michael van Gerwen)
2018 Champions League Champion; (Gary Anderson)
2018 World Series of Darts Finals Champion;
2018 World Cup winners; (Michael van Gerwen) & RAYMOND VAN BARNEVELD – 6
2017/18 PDC World Championship runner-up; (Phil Taylor)
2017 Grand Slam runner-up; PETER WRIGHT – 7
2018 Premier League runner-up; MICHAEL SMITH – 8
2018 World Matchplay runner-up; MENSUR SULJOVIC – 9
2018 World Grand Prix runner-up; (Peter Wright)
2017 World Youth Championship runner-up; JOSH PAYNE – 10
2018 Masters runner-up; (Raymond van Barneveld)
2018 UK Open runner-up; (COREY CADBY – withdrawn)
2018 European Championship runner-up; SIMON WHITLOCK – 11
2017 Players Championship runner-up; JONNY CLAYTON – 12
2018 Champions League runner-up; (Peter Wright)
2018 World Series of Darts Finals runner-up;
2018 World Cup runners-up (2 players with the highest individual taking preference if only one spot available) (Peter Wright & Gary Anderson)
This list can produce a maximum of 28 players. If it produces more than 16 players, they shall be taken in order as listed above and no further players shall qualify automatically.
If it produces fewer than 16 places then additional places shall be filled from the reserve list in the following order:
2018 European Tour winners: GERWYN PRICE – 13IAN WHITE – 14MAX HOPP – 15
2018 UK Open Qualifier winners (No non-qualified players)

Players shall be separated within the reserve list first by the number of Events in each category they have won and then by their position in the PDC main Order of Merit on the cut-off date.

BDO Representatives:
2018 Lakeside Champion – GLEN DURRANT
2018 Lakeside Championship runner-up – MARK MCGEENEY
2018 World Masters Champion – ADAM SMITH-NEALE
2018 BDO World Trophy Champion – (Glen Durrant)
Plus top five players from BDO Rankings:

Close Menu