William Hill World Darts Championship – International Qualifying Update

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin





South African star Petersen won the PDC Africa Qualifier to ensure his spot in the sport’s biggest event, which begins at Alexandra Palace on December 13.

The Mitchell’s Plain thrower overcame Nolan Arendse – the 2015 World Championship qualifier from South Africa – 7-2 in the final.

Petersen also defeated Francois Vertue, Les Gouvela, Rajan Odayar and David Nyemba in the latter stages during a dominant day.

Petersen’s 2018 World Cup of Darts team-mate Liam O’Brien was defeated by 6-5 in the last 16 by Jacques Coetzee.

Arendse overcame Coetzee 6-4 in the semi-finals, after enjoying a win over another former World Cup ace, Shawn Hogan.

Marijanovic won the 2018 German Superleague title with a 10-6 defeat of Dragutin Horvat in Sunday’s finals day at the Maritim Hotel in Dusseldorf.

Marijanovic, who previously competed in the 2013 and 2015 events, will make his third Alexandra Palace appearance next month following the success.

A PDC Tour Card Holder and former World Cup representative for Croatia, Marijanovic overcame Rene Berndt and Stefan Stoyke in the latter stages in Dusseldorf before proving too strong for Horvat.

Meanwhile, New Zealand’s Tahuna Irwin has withdrawn from the World Championship and been replaced by Craig Ross.

Irwin encountered immigration issues ahead of the recent PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship and has now withdrawn from the World Championship.

Ross, the 48-year-old from Ashburton, has replaced Irwin to make his televised debut at the World Championship, having been the runner-up in the DPNZ Qualifier in Invercargill.

Ross has a decade of experience on the circuit in Australia and New Zealand, including his qualification for the 2017 DPA Oceanic Masters.

Following the events in South Africa and Germany, the international qualifying events have now concluded ahead of next month’s World Championship.

The UK & Ireland Women’s Qualifier will be held in Milton Keynes on Sunday, November 25, with the PDC Tour Card Holders’ Qualifier taking place on Monday, November 26 to determine the final places in the field.

2018/2019 William Hill World Darts Championship

PDC Africa Qualifier



Nolan Arendse 6-2 Shawn Hogan

Jacques Coetzee 6-2 Jason Gouvela

Devon Petersen 6-1 Rajan Odayar

David Nyemba 6-5 Angel Morgan


Nolan Arendse 6-4 Jacques Coetzee

Devon Petersen 6-2 David Nyemba


Devon Petersen 7-2 Nolan Arendse

German Superleague Finals


Nico Blum 8-5 Maik Langendorf

Dragutin Horvat 8-4 Manfred Bilderl

Robert Marijanovic 8-4 Rene Berndt

Stefan Stoyke 8-6 Nico Kurz


Dragutin Horvat 9-6 Nico Blum

Robert Marijanovic 9-2 Stefan Stoyke


Robert Marijanovic 10-6 Dragutin Horvat

William Hill World Darts Championship Qualifiers

Top 32 from PDC Order of Merit (at November 26)

Top 32 from ProTour Order of Merit (at November 26)

Plus 32 International Qualifiers:

Two PDPA Qualifiers – November 26

2018 PDC Asian Tour Top Four – Lourence Ilagan, Royden Lam,  Noel Malicdem, Paul Lim

2018 PDC Unicorn World Youth Champion – November 25

2018 PDC Unicorn Development Tour Order of Merit top two non-qualified players – Ted Evetts, Geert Nentjes

2018 PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour Order of Merit top non-qualified player – Cody Harris

PDC Nordic & Baltic Top Two – Darius Labanauskas, Daniel Larsson

EADC Champion – Boris Koltsov

Oceanic Masters Champion – James Bailey

DPA Order of Merit Winner – Raymond Smith

DPNZ Qualifier – Craig Ross

German Superleague Champion – Robert Marijanovic

South-West Europe Qualifier – Jose De Sousa

South-East Europe Qualifier – Rowby-John Rodriguez

West Europe Qualifier – Yordi Meeuwisse

East Europe Qualifier – Karel Sedlacek

PDC China Qualifier – Yuanjun Liu

Tom Kirby Memorial Irish Matchplay Champion – Kevin Burness

North American Championship Winner – Jeff Smith

CDC Top Ranked American Player – Chuck Puleo

CDC Top Ranked Canadian Player – Jim Long

PDJ Japanese Qualifier – Seigo Asada

African Qualifier – Devon Petersen

South American Qualifier – Diogo Portela

UK Ladies Qualifier – November 25

Rest of the World Ladies Qualifier – Anastasia Dobromyslova

Indian Qualifier – Nitin Kumar

Close Menu